Lloyd A. Storrs Jr., MD  Resident Research Award

Lloyd Storrs has been described by his colleagues as "genius", "witty and wise teacher", and "He did not do extraordinary things, he did ordinary things in an extraordinary way".  He was a lifelong Texan and earned his MD degree from Baylor College of Medicine in 1947. He did his postgraduate training at Washington University in St. Louis and in the Air Force. He was stationed in Germany and had the good fortune of working with Dr. Samuel J. Crowe, professor and director of Otolaryngology at Johns Hopkins. He spent two years with Dr. Crowe in Germany?a superb preceptorship (or residency). Upon discharge, Dr. Storrs worked with Dr. Herb Harris of Baylor University as a fellow for two years. After that, he established a practice in Lubbock, Texas. He was appointed clinical professor of Otolaryngology at Texas Tech University School of Medicine in 1984.

He made several important contributions to Otology through his own genius, meticulous observations of many hundreds of his patients and exhaustive reading and study. He was the first to use temporal fascia for tympanoplasty and for covering the oval window after stapedectomy. He was the first to use phenol as a topical anesthetic for myringotomy, reporting 5000 consecutive cases and no persistent perforations. . He was also a pioneer in the development of the posterior approach to the middle ear through the chorda-facial angle. He was a member of most Otolaryngology organizations and served as president of several of them. Dr. Storrs is the author of several seminal papers, eight surgical movies, and a documentary on the management of sensorineural deafness.

The Lloyd Storrs Lectureship provides a forum for residents to present their research and/or papers at the annual meeting of the Texas Association of Otolaryngology.  The presenter can be the first or second author. The paper is acceptable even if it has already been presented or published. Three prizes are awarded: 1st prize is an expense paid trip to the annual meeting and $1000 cash; the 2nd and 3rd prizes are $500 each.  The winner of the 1st prize is required to present his/her work at the annual meeting.  The paper may be submitted in writing or as an attachment to  Papers must be submitted in triplicate.  Every effort will be made to prevent the reviewers from recognizing the origin of the paper.  Reviewers are active members of the Texas Association of Otolaryngology.

2016 Lloyd Storrs' Winners

1st Place
Demetri Arnaoutakis, MD

2nd Place
Nicholas Scalzitti, MD

3rd Place
Philip Gardner, MD



TAO Lifetime Achievement Award

The Texas Association of Otolaryngology Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes those individuals who have had a profound impact on the specialty of otolaryngology head & neck surgery and who have provided remarkable and lasting service to the Texas Association of Otolaryngology.

Past Lifetime Achievement Award Winners

2012 - Charles Railsback, MD, FACS
2013 - Melton (Buddy) Horwitz, MD
2014 - Lewis Raney, MD
2015 - Fred Owens, MD
2016 - Byron Bailey, MD